WELCOME! | Log in | SATURDAY, JULY 20, 2019 | Forecast | Lottery Results | Contact Us | Send a news tip | Get our newsletter | RSS Feed

About Nutley

Nutley is a township located in Essex County, and is run by a commissioner form of government. The township reported in the 2010 census that 28,370 residents lived in Nutley. This leafy, family-friendly town is renowned for its parks, the largest in the entire county; their highly rated public schools; the lively downtown area filled with numerous renowned restaurants and an almost constant roster of events for residents.

The commissioner form of government was formed as part of the Walsh act, and calls for 5 elected commissioners to be elected. Each commissioner is non-partisan, and serves for four years. The mayor is always the commisioner with the highest votes, and each commissioner is not only the legislative leader for Nutley, voting on laws and other issues, but also the head of a township department.

Click here to visit the Nutley township website.

As of May 2012 and continuing through May 2016, Nutley's commissioners are Mayor Alphonse Petracco (Commissioner of Public Safety), Thomas J. Evans (Commissioner of Revenue and Finance), Steven L. Rogers (Commissioner of Public Affairs), Dr. Joseph P. Scarpelli (Commissioner of Public Works) and Mauro G. Tucci (Commissioner of Parks and Public Property).

Department Directories - Office of the Mayor
Mayor Alphonse Petracco
Director of Public Safety
228 Chestnut Street
Nutley, NJ  07110
Administrative Assistant
Sandra Carella

Department Directories - Parks & Public Property
Township of Nutley
Parks and Public Property
44 Park Avenue
Nutley, NJ  07110
Director of Parks and Public Property
Mauro G. Tucci
Kathy Ritacco
973-284-4951 x2529
Crissy Bevere
973-284-4951 x2507

Department Directories - Public Affairs
149 Chestnut Street
Phone: 973-284-4976
Fax: 973-661-9411
Director of Public Affairs
Steven L. Rogers
Assistant to the Director
Anita Tedesco
973-284-4951 x2426
Senior Clerk / Deputy Registrar
Annmarie Nicolette
973-284-4951 x2421
Clerk / Registrar
Meredith Blank
973-284-4951 x2424

Department Directories - Public Safety
228 Chestnut Street
Phone: 973-284-4940
Director of Public Safety
Alphonse Petracco
Administrative Assistant
Sandra Carella
 Departmental Directories - Public Works
Director of Public Works
Dr. Joseph P. Scarpelli

Federal, state and county representation
Nutley is located in the 11th Congressional District[35] and is part of New Jersey's 28th state legislative district.[11][36][37] Prior to the 2011 reapportionment following the 2010 Census, Nutley had been in the 36th state legislative district.[38] Prior to the 2010 Census, Nutley had been part of the 8th Congressional District, a change made by the New Jersey Redistricting Commission that took effect in January 2013, based on the results of the November 2012 general elections.[38]
New Jersey's Eleventh Congressional District is represented by Rodney Frelinghuysen (R, Harding Township).[39] New Jersey is represented in the United States Senate by Frank Lautenberg (D, Cliffside Park) and Bob Menendez (D, Hoboken).
The 28th District of the New Jersey Legislature is represented in the State Senate by Ronald Rice (D, Newark) and in the General Assembly by Ralph R. Caputo (D, Belleville) and Cleopatra Tucker (D, Newark).[40] The Governor of New Jersey is Chris Christie (R, Mendham Township).[41] The Lieutenant Governor of New Jersey is Kim Guadagno (R, Monmouth Beach).[42]
Essex County is governed by a directly-elected County Executive, with legislative functions performed by the Board of Chosen Freeholders.[43] As of 2013, the County Executive is Joseph N. DiVincenzo, Jr.[44] The county's Board of Chosen Freeholders consists of nine members, four elected on an at-large basis and one from each of five wards, who serve three-year terms of office on a concurrent basis, all of which end in 2014.[43][45][46] Essex County's Freeholders are Freeholder President Blonnie R. Watson (at large; Newark)[47], Freeholder Vice President Patricia Sebold (at large; Livingston)[48], Rufus I. Johnson (at large; Newark)[49], Gerald M. Owens (At large; South Orange, filling the vacant seat after the resignation of Donald Payne, Jr.)[50] Rolando Bobadilla (District 1 - Newark's North and East Wards, parts of Central and West Wards; Newark)[51], D. Bilal Beasley (District 2 - Irvington, Maplewood and Newark's South Ward and parts of West Ward; Irvington)[52], Carol Y. Clark (District 3 - East Orange, Newark's West and Central Wards, Orange and South Orange; East Orange)[53] and Leonard M. Luciano (District 4 - Caldwell, Cedar Grove, Essex Fells, Fairfield, Livingston, Millburn, North Caldwell, Roseland, Verona, West Caldwell and West Orange; West Caldwell),[54] and Brendan W. Gill (District 5 - Belleville, Bloomfield, Glen Ridge, Montclair and Nutley; Montclair).[55][56][57] Constitutional elected countywide are County Clerk Christopher J. Durkin (West Caldwell, 2015),[58] Sheriff Armando B. Fontoura (2015)[59] and Surrogate Thomas N. Stephen, II (2016).[60][45][61]

Contents of this site are all © 2019 The Jersey Tomato Press | All rights reserved | Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions